Our structure

Last updated:

The Department of Veterans’ Affairs employs over 3000 staff throughout Australia. We have offices located in each state and territory capital, as well as smaller regional offices, known as Veterans’ Affairs Network (VAN) offices. They provide information, advice and advocacy services to our clients.


The Minister for Veterans’ Affairs is responsible for the department. The Secretary is head of the department and President of the Repatriation Commission. The senior leadership of the department includes:

  • Secretary and President — Alison Frame
  • Chief Operating Officer & Deputy Secretary Client Benefits — Teena Blewitt PSM
  • Deputy Secretary Veteran, Family & Stakeholder Experience — Alison McLaren
  • Deputy Secretary Policy & Programs — Andrew Kefford PSM
  • Deputy President — Kate Pope PSM

Deputy Commissioners represent the department in each state and territory. As at 10 October 2023 they are:

  • NSW/ACT — Victoria Benz
  • Victoria — Michael Harper
  • Queensland — Tara Hatzismalis
  • South Australia — Janice Silby
  • Northern Territory — Louise Ruhl
  • Tasmania — Luke Brown
  • Western Australia — Peter King

See: Organisational chart, The SecretaryContact us

Other agencies

In addition to the Department of Veterans’ Affairs, other agencies or groups also provide services for the veteran community. They include:

  • Repatriation Commission
  • Australian War Memorial
  • Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission
  • Veterans’ Review Board
  • Repatriation Medical Authority
  • Specialist Medical Review Council
  • Office of Australian War Graves

See: Our portfolio

Was this page useful?
Please tell us why you selected 'Yes'?
Please tell us why you selected 'No'?