Skip to Content

ESO Round Table (ESORT)


This forum is intended to enhance the capacity of the Repatriation Commission and Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission. This forum aims to address issues of strategic importance to the ex-service and defence communities and assist in setting directions for the medium to long term. Specific responsibilities include:

  • acting as the main forum for dialogue between the Military Rehabilitation Compensation Commission (MRCC), Repatriation Commission, Department of Veterans’ Affairs and the leadership of the ESO and Defence communities
  • providing advice on how government can better facilitate a common approach to veteran and ex-service issues against the current background of ageing members, declining membership and multiple ex-service organisations not necessarily united in their common concerns
  • guiding strategic directions for the portfolio; and
  • serving as the main body for consultation under the Legislative Instruments Act 2003 on the development of legislative instruments impacting members of the ex service and Defence communities under:
    •  the Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986
    • Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004
    • Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation (Defence Related Claims) Act 1988
    • Defence Service Homes Act 1918
    • War Graves Act 1980.

Terms of Reference (DOC 47 KB).


Membership comprises representatives from the following organisations
Organisation Representative
Repatriation Commission and Military Rehabilitation & Compensation Commission Ms Liz Cosson AM CSC
Repatriation Commission and Military Rehabilitation & Compensation Commission Mr Craig Orme DSC AM CSC
Repatriation Commission and Military Rehabilitation & Compensation Commission Major General Mark Kelly AO DSC
Military Rehabilitation & Compensation Commission Ms Jennifer Taylor
Military Rehabilitation & Compensation Commission Air Vice-Marshall Tracy Smart AM
Military Rehabilitation & Compensation Commission Rear Admiral Brett Wolski AM RAN
Australian Peacekeepers & Peacemakers Veterans’ Association Mr Allan Thomas
National President
Australian Special Air Service Association (ASASA) Mr Peter Fitzpatrick AO AM
National Chairman
Defence Families Australia Ms Maree Sirois
National Convenor
Defence Force Welfare Association (DFWA) Mr Kel Ryan
National President
Defence Reserves Association Major General Paul Irving AM PSM RFD
National President
Legacy Australia Inc. Mr Richard Cranna
National Chairman
Naval Association of Australia CMDR Terry Makings AM RAN (Retd)
National President
Partners of Veterans Association (PVA) Ms Heather Evans
National President
Royal Australian Air Force Association (RAAFA) Group Captain Carl Schiller OAM CSM (Retd)
National President
Royal Australian Regiment Corporation (RAR) Mr Michael von Berg MC OAM
Returned & Services League of Australia (RSL) Mr John King
National President
TPI Federation Australia Ms Pat McCabe OAM
National President
Vietnam Veterans Association of Australia (VVAA) Mr Kenneth Foster OAM
National President
Vietnam Veterans’ Federation of Australia (VVFA) Mr William Roberts OAM
National President
War Widows’ Guild of Australia Ms Meg Green
National President

The leaders of the ESOs listed above are the appointed members of the Round Table.

The Chair of the ESO Round Table is the Chair of the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission.

Meeting schedule

The ESO Round Table meets face-to-face two or three times per year and if required, holds additional meetings via video or telephone conference.

Meeting summaries

A summary of each ESO Round Table meeting.

Hearing Services Working Group


To contact the ESO Round Table Secretariat, please email

Average: 2.4 (7 votes)