Skip to Content

Laying Lutyen’s ‘unbuilt’ Paths

Although conceived formally only shortly after the end of the First World War in 1919, construction of the Australian National Memorial on Hill 104 near Villers-Bretonneux would not begin until 1937.

A design competition in 1925 allowed a budget of £100,000, however the intervening years and austerity of the Great Depression led to an alternative design and a budget of only £30,000 being set by the time construction was ready to commence.

As part of the development of the Sir John Monash Centre, the terrace paths envisioned in Sir Edwin Lutyens’ design to connect the tower and pavilions of the Australian National Memorial will finally be realised.

Originally excluded as a cost savings measure, these paths will enhance the experience of visiting the Memorial. When the Sir John Monash Centre is completed in 2018, these paths will also serve to guide visitors toward the Memorial’s two pavilions, leading them downward to the Centre’s foyer.

The excavation work to prepare for Lutyens’ ‘unbuilt’ paths has been completed. Work to lay the paving has started and is expected to be completed in October 2016. Visitors are advised that although there will be no closures during this time, some limitations to visitor access to the Memorial’s walls and tower may occur during these works.

Unfinished construction of Memorial's terrace paths.

Preparing to lay the ‘unbuilt’ terrace paths connecting the Memorial tower and pavilions.

Average: 2.6 (5 votes)