Which Act applies to me?

There are four Acts that provide compensation coverage for serving members and former members of the ADF. They are:

  • Veterans’ Entitlements Act 1986 (VEA)
  • Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 1988 (SRCA)
  • Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act 2004 (MRCA)
  • Defence Act 1903 (DA).

For injury, disease or death related to service before 1 July 2004, you are likely to be covered under the SRCA or VEA. For injury, disease or death related to service on or after 1 July 2004, you will be covered under the MRCA.

See: Eligibility table – which Act applies to me?

SRCA and VEA comparison

See an explanation of the differences between  the eligibility requirements of the SRCA and the VEA.

See Factsheet: Comparison of SRCA and VEA (MCS02) (PDF 114KB

See further: Legislation on ComLaw website


For further assistance, contact DVA .