About the SWAC Steering Committee

The SWAC Steering Committee co-ordinates the competition. Committee members contribute by attending meetings, liaising with their organisation, and helping to promote SWAC throughout the ex-service and wider community.

The current committee members are:

  • Ruth Bland, Department of Veterans’ Affairs (Chairperson)
  • Gordon Archer, Melbourne Legacy
  • Marie Ben, Rehabilitation Work Group, Austin Health
  • Amat (Aff) Binnoore, Vietnam Veterans Association of Australia (Vic)
  • Michael Fidler, Returned and Services League (Victorian Branch)
  • Jeff Freeman, Totally & Permanently Disabled Soldiers Association (Vic)
  • Ray Gill, Naval Association of Australia (Box Hill & District Sub- Section)
  • Suzanne Hall, War Widows’ Guild of Australia (Vic)
  • Siobhan Hodgins, Austin Health (SWAC Coordinator)
  • Mark Johnston, The Defence Force Welfare Association (Victoria Branch)
  • Ian Rainford, Defence Reserves Association
  • Bill Smith, RAR Association
  • Joe Virgato, Department of Veterans' Affairs
  • Nev Walley, Aust Peacekeepers & Peacemakers Veterans Assoc.
  • Robert Winther, Austin Health