Skip to Content

Operational Working Party (OWP)

This forum is intended to:

  • enhance the ex-service community’s understanding of DVA’s service delivery performance through information sharing and improved communication between DVA and the ex-service community
  • be a forum for ex-service organisations to discuss concerns arising from the delivery of DVA services
  • identify and provide recommendations for improvements in operational policy to promote quality and accountability in service delivery.

See also the Terms of Reference


Membership comprises representatives from the following organisations
Organisation Representative
Department of Veterans' Affairs – Chair Mr Craig Orme DSC AM CSC, Deputy President
Department of Veterans' Affairs – Deputy Chair Ms Natasha Cole, First Assistant Secretary, Clients’ Benefits Division
Air Force Association Mr Graeme Bland
Australian Peacekeeper and Peacemaker Veterans' Association Mr Trevor Plymin
Australian Special Air Service Association Mr John Burrows
Australian Veterans Alliance Mr John McNeill
Defence Force Welfare Association Mr Kerry Mellor
Legacy Australia Inc Mr Robert Connor
Naval Association of Australia Mr Terence Meehan AM
Partners of Veterans Association Ms Rona Lunney
Returned and Services League of Australia Mr John King
Royal Australian Regiment Association Mr Clem Russell OAM
TPI Federation Australia Ms Pat McCabe OAM
Vietnam Veterans Association of Australia Mr Ken Foster OAM
Vietnam Veterans' Federation of Australia Mr William Roberts OAM
War Widows’ Guild of Australia Ms Meg Green

Departmental representation will be available as appropriate. The forum has the flexibility to invite additional participants relevant to the areas of focus or specific agenda items (including service specific and non-ESO aligned).

Meeting schedule

The OWP meets in person three times per year. The meetings are chaired by Mr Craig Orme DSC AM CSC, Deputy President.

Meeting minutes

Meeting minutes of each OWP meeting are available via the following links:


Contact the Secretariat of the OWP.

No votes yet