Skip to Content


Liz Cosson AM CSC, President

Ms Cosson was appointed Secretary of the Department of Veterans' Affairs (DVA), President of the Repatriation Commission and Chair of the Military Repatriation and Compensation Commission (MRCC) on 19 May 2018.

Ms Cosson served for 31 years in the Australian Army, becoming the first woman to attain the rank of Major General. In 2001, Ms Cosson received the Conspicuous Service Cross for outstanding achievement as Chief of Staff, Peace Monitoring Group, Bougainville. In 2011, she was appointed a Member of the Order of Australia for her exceptional service to the Australian Army and Australian Defence Organisation.

Ms Cosson joined the Australian Public Service in 2010 as a First Assistant Secretary in DVA. Between 2012 and 2016, she held executive positions in the Department of Immigration and Citizenship and the Department of Health. She returned to DVA, as Deputy Secretary and Chief Operating Officer, in 2016.

Ms Cosson has a Master of Arts, a Bachelor of Social Science and a Diploma in Management. She received the ACT Award for Excellence in Women's Leadership in 2014.

Simon Lewis PSM, President

Mr Lewis was appointed Secretary of DVA, President of the Repatriation Commission and Chair of the MRCC on 11 July 2013 and retired on 18 May 2018. By virtue of holding the office of President of the Repatriation Commission, he was also Chair of the MRCC.

Craig Orme DSC AM CSC, Deputy President

Mr Orme commenced a five-year term as Deputy President of the Repatriation Commission on 2 February 2015 and is a member of the MRCC. Prior to joining the Repatriation Commission, Mr Orme served in the Australian Defence Force (ADF) for 37 years, most recently as the Commander Joint Task Force 633 in the Middle East and Afghanistan.

Previously, he was a member of the MRCC, a Deputy Commissioner on the Safety, Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission, and the Defence representative on the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Act Review.

Other senior appointments in Defence have included Head of People Capability, Commander of the Australian Defence College, Director General of Personnel — Army, and Commander of the 1st Brigade. He has masters degrees from the University of New South Wales and Deakin University.

Major General Mark Kelly AO DSC, Commissioner

Major General Kelly began his initial five-year appointment to the Repatriation Commission and the MRCC on 1 July 2010. He was reappointed for a further two years on 1 July 2015, and again for a further two years on 1 July 2017.

In an Army career spanning more than 35 years, he served in a number of senior command appointments, including as Commanding Officer of the 1st Battalion, The Royal Australian Regiment; Commander 3rd Brigade; Commander 1st Division and the Deployable Joint Force Headquarters; Land Commander Australia; and Commander Joint Task Force 633 (CJTF 633).

Major General Kelly’s operational experience includes service with the Commonwealth Monitoring Force in Zimbabwe/Rhodesia (1979–80); service as Chief of Staff of the International Force in East Timor (1999–2000); service with US CENTCOM in the Middle East, Afghanistan, the Horn of Africa and Iraq (2003–04); and service as CJTF 633, commanding all ADF elements in the Middle East Area of Operations, Iraq and Afghanistan (2009–10).

No votes yet