Skip to Content


The Commission has three full-time members appointed by the Governor-General: the President, Deputy President and Services member. The President is also Secretary of the Department of Veterans’ Affairs and, in that capacity, is responsible to the Minister for Veterans’ Affairs. The Deputy President acts as Deputy Secretary of the Department. The Services member is generally known as the Repatriation Commissioner and is selected from names submitted to the Minister by ex-service organisations.

The President of the Repatriation Commission also serves as Chair of the Military Rehabilitation and Compensation Commission (MRCC), ensuring consistency between the two Commissions and the Department. The remaining two Repatriation Commission members are also part-time members of the MRCC.

Average: 1 (3 votes)